Tenure and Academic Freedom Committee Minutes 13 June 2019 Cathedral of Learning 156

Attendance: Abbe de Vallejo, Carey Balaban, Chris Bonneau, Elizabeth Mulvaney, Ergin Kocyildirim, Jane Cauley (secretary), Kirill Kiselyov, Maria Kovacs, Nick Bircher, Tara O'Connor, Karin Warner (via phone), Amy Tuttle (representing Lauie Kirsch and Tara O'Connor), Donovan Harrell (representing the University Times)

Excused: Barry Gold, John Kirkwood, Rakesh Sindhi, Ann Thompson and Laurie Kirsch

Absent: Helen Petracchi, Jessie Van Swearingen, Nicholas Mance, Amanda Leifson, John Boyer, Jonathan D'Cunha

The meeting was called to order at 2:05 PM by Maria Kovacs.

- 1. Phone attendee (Karin Warner): We were assured she was in a secure area to protect confidentiality.
- 2. The minutes of the previous meeting (March 20, 2019) were discussed and approved.
- 3. Update on old business: TAFC presentation on tenure clock issue at Faculty Assembly
 - a. Application to extend tenure track to 10 years passed University Senate Council; now to be reviewed by the Chancellor and Board of Trustees.
- 4. New Business: select new Co-Chair for TAFC
 - a. Abbe de Vallejo was nominated and seconded as chair; unanimously approved.
 - b. Tara O'Connor, Amy Tuttle and Donavan Harrnell all left.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane A. Cauley